تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
x

من أجل شتاء أقل صعوبة: سكان مخيم بحورتا يمهدون طرقات المخيم بأنفسهم

Pavement Works at Bahorata camp

 

الحياة في مخيمات النازحين في الشمال السوري صعبة بما فيه الكفاية مع كل ما تمثله من مشقات النزوح وغياب المتطلبات الأساسية للعيش. هذه المشقات تتفاقم على نحو كبير مع قدوم فصل الشتاء، إذ تجلب الأمطار والعواصف مشكلات إضافية لسكان المخيمات، وغالباً ما تترك خلفها خيماً مقتلعة ومستنقعات وأوحالاً، وفصلاً طويلاً من المعاناة.   

مخيم بحورتا بريف إدلب هو أحد هذه المخيمات التي تنال نصيبها السنوي من المعاناة في الشتاء. طرقات المخيم التي يستخدمها الأهالي للتنقل والذهاب إلى المرافق الأساسية تتحول إلى برك من الطين والوحل مع بداية موسم المطر، ومن المعتاد أن تترك العواصف المطرية مستنقعات كبيرة تغرق الخيم وتمنع الناس من التنقل والحركة. 

تم إنشاء المخيم حديثاً من قبل مؤسسة بناء للتنمية، وهو مؤلف من 215 وحدة سكنية آوت 1229 فردا من النازحين في الشمال السوري، حيث يقطنه حالياً قرابة 1229 نازحاً من بينهم 343 من الأطفال الذين تغمر الأمطار والطين أقدامهم حتى الركب وهم يتوجهون إلى المدرسة.  

لمعالجة المشكلة، بادر فريق مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بإطلاق مشروع لرصف طرقات مخيم بحورتا يتضمن تدريب مجموعة من أهالي المخيم على المهارات الأساسية لتنفيذ أعمال الرصف. يأتي المشروع ضمن برنامج النقد مقابل العمل، وهو ما يعني حصول الأهالي على أجر مقابل تنفيذ العمل في المخيم.

يصف حسام محمد الأسود، أحد سكان المخيم المشاركين في تنفيذ المشروع، حالة المخيم في فصل الشتاء: "التربة في المخيم ترابية زراعية حمراء، ومع قدوم الشتاء يتراكم الطين والوحل ولا يستطيع الأطفال المشي خارجاً ويصعب التنقل بالسيارات أو وسائل النقل أو الدراجات النارية، ولذلك يعاني الناس هنا كثيراً في الشتاء... عملية الرصف سوف تخفف المعاناة على نحو كبير حيث سيتم تصريف المياه ما سيمنع تراكم الطين… أخيراً سيمكن الأولاد من الخروج واللعب والذهاب إلى المدرسة". 

التربة في المخيم ترابية زراعية حمراء، ومع قدوم الشتاء يتراكم الطين والوحل ولا يستطيع الأطفال المشي خارجاً ويصعب التنقل بالسيارات أو وسائل النقل أو الدراجات النارية، ولذلك يعاني الناس هنا كثيراً في الشتاء... عملية الرصف سوف تخفف المعاناة على نحو كبير حيث سيتم تصريف المياه ما سيمنع تراكم الطين… أخيراً سيمكن الأولاد من الخروج واللعب والذهاب إلى المدرسة

وأضاف: "ما دفعني للانضمام للمشروع هو أولاً تأمين دخل يسمح لي بإعالة أطفالي وأسرتي".  

من جانبه قال المهندس عبد الكافي جحجاح، وهو مسؤول ميداني من منظمة بناء: "يحتاج المشروع إلى عمال لتنفيذه، وقد اختارت مؤسسة بناء التعاون مع سكان المخيم لإنجاز المشروع، وقامت لهذا الغرض باختيار مجموعة من العمال الأكفاء والقادرين على إنجاز هذا النوع من العمل بعد إجراء تقييم مناسب لهم. اخترنا حوالي 18 شخصاً من داخل المخيم".


 

Residents of Bahorata camp participating in the paving works as part of the Binaa Cash for Work program

 

وقال حسن أبو مطير، وهو مدير مشروع ضمن مؤسسة بناء للتنمية: "يمثل هذا النوع من المشاريع بالنسبة لنا نجاحاً على عدة مستويات، فهو أولاً يلبي حاجة ملحة وحيوية لسكان المخيمات، كما أنه يعتمد على تدريب الأهالي وتمكينهم من تنفيذ العمل بأنفسهم ما يعني امتلاكهم لمهارات جديدة قد تساعدهم في الحصول على عمل مستقبلاً، وأخيراً يستطيع المشاركون في العمل، وكذلك أهلهم وجيرانهم، رؤية ثمار عملهم بشكل مباشر وملموس، وهو ما يسمح لنا بإيصال الرسالة الأساسية من هذا المشروع وهي أننا نستطيع تغيير ظروفنا بأيدينا إذا عملنا معاً وخططنا بشكل سليم، مهما كانت هذه الظروف صعبة".

حسن أبو مطير هو أحد أعضاء فريق مؤسسة بناء الذي يعمل بشكل منسق لإنجاز المشروع وفقاً لمواصفات فنية عالية من خلال تشجيع المشاركين على الامتثال لإجراءات الأمن والسلامة بشكل دائم، ولا سيما شروط التباعد الاجتماعي وتعقيم اليدين وغيرها من متطلبات الوقاية من تفشي جائحة كوفيد-19، وأيضاً الحفاظ على البيئة في كل مراحل العمل، وهي من أبرز العناصر التي يتدرب عليها المشاركون في تدريبات مؤسسة بناء.

بالنسبة لغالبية المشاركين في المشروع، يشكل الحصول على عمل عنصراً حيوياً بحد ذاته، فالكثيرون منهم فقدوا مصادر رزقهم، ولهذا الغرض فإن مشروع رصف الطرق، والذي يأتي ضمن برنامج النقد مقابل العمل، من شأنه أن يمنحهم المهارات اللازمة، وشيئاً من الأمل أيضاً، للحصول على عمل في المستقبل.

Skip to main content
x

MAKING WINTER MORE BEARABLE: RESIDENTS OF BAHORTA IN THE IDLIB COUNTRYSIDE PAVE THE ROADS OF THEIR CAMP.

Pavement Works at Bahorata camp

 

Life in Northern Syria’s IDP camps is notoriously difficult, highlighting the pressures of displacement and the absence of basic living conditions. The already dire situation in the camps is exacerbated by the advent of winter; rain and storms bring additional hardships to the camps’ residents, leaving behind uprooted tents, pools of mud, and yet another chapter of suffering.

The Bahorta camp in the Idlib countryside is typical: with the onset of the rainy season, the camp’s unpaved roads and grounds become muddy and impassable. Rain, water and mud seep into the units, rendering them nearly unliveable.

The camp was recently established by BINAA for Development. It consists of 215 housing units sheltering 1229 IDPs in northern Syria, including 343 children, whose feet are covered in rain and mud as they go to school. 

The BINAA for Development team initiated a road-paving project for the camp, which included training a group of camp residents in the basic skills of paving. This pavement project is part of the cash-for-work program, which means that residents receive a wage in exchange for carrying out work in the camp.

Hussam Muhammad al-Aswad, a camp resident who participated in the pavement project, describes the camp’s condition during winter: “The soil in the camp is agricultural red soil. When the winter season comes, mud starts to accumulate heavily. Children cannot walk outside, and it is difficult to use cars or other forms of transport, such as motorcycles, on the roads. People here suffer a lot in the winter. The paving works will alleviate their suffering greatly. The water can drain, mud will no longer accumulate ... Finally, the children will be able to go out, play and go to school.”

The soil in the camp is agricultural red soil. When the winter season comes, mud starts to accumulate heavily. Children cannot walk outside, and it is difficult to use cars or other forms of transport, such as motorcycles, on the roads. People here suffer a lot in the winter. The paving works will alleviate their suffering greatly. The water can drain, mud will no longer accumulate ... Finally, the children will be able to go out, play and go to school. 

“What also encouraged me to join the project was that it will help me secure an income to support my children and my family,” he added,

On his role, Abdul Kafi Jahjah, a field engineer from BINAA for Development, said that “the project needs workers to implement it. BINAA has chosen to cooperate with the camp’s residents to complete the project and selected a group of qualified workers who have the ability and skills to learn and perform this type of work. After conducting the appropriate evaluations, we were able to choose 18 workers from among the camp residents.” 

Residents of Bahorata camp participating in the paving works as part of the Binaa Cash for Work program

 

Hassan Abu Mutair, a project manager from BINAA for Development said: “for us, the successful implementation of this project will help us achieve several goals at once. First, the project addresses a pressing and vital need for camp residents. Second, participants can acquire new skills that may help them secure a job in the future and, last, participants, along with their families and neighbours, can immediately see the results of their labour.  This reinforces the project’s message, which is that if we work together and plan properly, we can change our circumstances, however difficult they may be.” 

Abu Mutair is a member of BINAA’s team that is coordinating the efforts to complete the project with high technical specifications, by encouraging workers to comply with safety measures – in particular, social distancing and hand sterilization, and other measures to prevent the spread of the Covid-19 – as well as the preservation of the environment in all stages of work. These measures are an essential part of the project participant training.

For the majority of the project’s participants, securing a job is a vital goal in itself. Many have lost their livelihoods; as such, the road paving project can give them the necessary skills, and a bit of hope as well, to find work in the future.