تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
x

آمال بالفرج تغذيها مبادرات تذلل الصعاب

عمال الرصف يعملون ضمن مشروع النقد مقابل العمل

بهمة عالية وحلول بخدمة الجميع… مخيمات مرصوفة بسواعد شبابها

عندما نتحدث عن النازحين السوريين فإننا نتحدث عن سلسلة من العذابات والمعاناة، تبدأ بالرعب من أهوال الحرب والقصف، مرورا بترك شقى العمر وراءك والهرب أملا بنجاتك ونجاة أبنائك، في رحلة نزوح عنوانها التشرد والتعب والقهر، وصولا إلى حياة المخيمات العشوائية بكل ما تحمله معها من ذل وعذاب.

تم تأسيس مخيمات الشمال السوري بأيدي سكانها المعدمين، على أمل الحصول على سقف يؤويهم ولو كان قماشا مهترئا لا يرد عنهم برد الشتاء وأمطاره ولا حر الصيف وحشراته، وأما مرافقه فتخلو من أبسط مظاهر المدنية، وخاصة الطرقات التي تتجمع فيها مياه الأمطار لتتحول بعدها إلى مستنقعات من الوحل تجعل حركة السكان مغامرة قد لا تحمد عقباها.

هؤلاء النازحون فقدوا كل شيء، أعمال كانوا يسترزقون بها سواء كانت أرضا زراعية وفيرة الخير والرزق، أو حرفة تطعم الأبناء بكرامة وعزة، وجد نفسه بين ليلة وضحاها شريدا لا يلوي على شيء، فاقدا للحيلة عاجزا عن تأمين أبسط متطلبات عائلته للعيش الكريم، وإن كان ليس بالخبز وحده يحيا الإنسان ولكن عندما يعجز عن توفيره يصبح أغلى من الذهب.

ضمن هذه الرؤية أطلقت مؤسسة بناء مجموعة من المشاريع في مخيمات الشمال السوري لتخفيف شيء من العبء الذي يتحمله سكان هذه المخيمات، فمن خلال مبادرة النقد مقابل العمل، قادت المنظمة عملية تفعيل الموارد والطاقات البشرية المتوفرة في المخيم، لتصبح عنصرا فعالا ومساهما في تحسين ظروف الحياة وجعلها تليق بحياة الإنسان.

جاء مشروع رصف الطرقات كواحد من أهم مشاريع النقد مقابل العمل التي تم تنفيذها في ثلاثة مخيمات، شملت هذه الأعمال مخيم بحورتا في ريف حلب التي بدأ تنفيذ المشروع فيها بتاريخ 01-10-2020 لينتهي بتاريخ 30-04-2021 ساهم في تنفيذه 18 عاملا، إضافة إلى مخيمي الأمل والجبل في ريف إدلب والتي بدأت فيها الأعمال بتاريخ 31-01-2021 وانتهت بتاريخ 06-31-2021 والتي وصل عدد العمال فيها إلى 107 عامل.

عمليات الرصف تمت بسواعد العمال من سكان هذه المخيمات، الذين تم اختيارهم من أصحاب الخبرة في مجالات مشابهة إلى حد ما، وبعد اجتياز العمال لفترة التدريب على التعامل مع أدوات العمل ومواده بدأ العمل على قدم وساق في هذه المخيمات حيث تم رصف مساحة 4100 م² و4600 م² في مخيم مربع الأمل إضافة إلى مساحة رصف بلغت 14000 م² في مخيم الجبل.

السيد أحمد نازح من قرية معر دبسة في ريف سراقب الجنوبي، وهو أحد المستفيدين من مشروع الرصف في مخيم الجبل في منطقة الشيخ بحر.

قبل النزوح كان أحمد يعمل في مجال البلاط وكانت أدوات عمله هي الممتلكات التي حرص على إنقاذها معه عندما غادر قريته، على أمل أن تكون عونا له على العوز والحاجة، ولهذا فقد كان أحمد سعيدا للحصول على فرصة عمل في هذا المشروع، خاصة أنه يملك خبرة سابقة في هذا المجال فلم يتردد في تقديم الطلب الذي تمت الموافقة عليه من قبل المنظمة، يقول أحمد:

"بسبب النزوح تراجعت أحوالنا كثيرا، ورصف الطرقات قريب من مجال عملي وله علاقة بالبلاط، سيعطيني خبرة إضافية مفيدة بالنسبة لي".

وكذلك السيد محمد، من أهالي قرية تل دباس نازح من معرة النعمان في محافظة إدلب، الذي وصلت به رحلة نزوحه إلى مخيم الجبل برفقة عائلته المكونة من 12 فردا. اشتد القصف على قريته فترك شقى عمره وراءه وهرب لعله ينجو بحياته وحياة عائلته.

في قريته كان محمد يعمل في البناء بالحجر والبلوك، وتمكن من العمل في مشروع الرصف الذي أبلغه عنه أحد أقربائه من سكان المخيم، حيث يقول محمد: "قدمت طلبين إلى المنظمة… الأول هو طلب الانتقال إلى هذا المخيم، والثاني هو طلب الانضمام للعمل في مشروع الرصف والحمد لله جاءني القبول للإثنين" ولأول مرة منذ زمن شعر محمد بأن الحظ يبتسم له، فالحياة في مخيم الجبل كانت تعد مقبولة إلى حد ما كما أنه بحاجة ماسة للعمل الأمر الذي يوضحه محمد بقوله:

"أنا كنت في حاجة شديدة للعمل من أجل تأمين مصروف لأسرتي الكبيرة.. وأيضاً العمل قريب من عملي الأساسي فأنا كنت معلم بناء"

مثل غالبية المشاريع التي تنفذها المؤسسة يأتي مشروع رصف طرقات المخيم تلبية لحاجة حيوية، وتهدف إلى تحسين مستوى الحياة والخدمات في المخيم وتخليص سكانه من المعاناة التي تتجدد مع كل شتاء، وهنا يقول أحمد: "عملية الرصف ستخفف الكثير من المعاناة، ففي الشتاء تمطر بشدة، تمطر بشكل غريب هنا في هذه المنطقة… وتتجمع المياه في الطرقات ولا يقدر الأولاد على الخروج من الخيمة، وعندما تتسرب إلى الخيم تخرب كل شيء فيها.."

بالتأكيد تغيرت ملامح الحياة في المخيم بعد عمليات الرصف، فقد تخلصت الطرق من الوحل والطين ومياه الأمطار المتجمعة، حيث يصف لنا محمد كيف كان الوضع في المخيم ويقول: "كنا ما نقدر نطلع من الخيمة بسبب الطين والوحل، حتى الجهة التي كانت تحضر لنا مياه الشرب كانت ما تقبل أن تأتي إلى هذا المخيم بسبب الطرقات الموحلة، ولكن الآن الحمد لله صارت تمام والخدمات موجودة كلها" 

عمال الرصف في بناء يرصفون مخيمهم

الأمل بالعودة إلى الديار، وأن هذا النزوح هو مرحلة مؤقتة ستنتهي في وقت قريب هو ما يخفف عن النازحين الأعباء التي يتحملونها في المخيمات، وبالنسبة لأحمد فإن ذلك يعني بأنه عندما يعود إلى قريته سيجني ثمار الخبرات التي حصل عليها من التدريب والعمل في مشروع الرصف حيث يشرح لنا: "إذا بيوم من الأيام إن شاء الله رجعنا إلى بيوتنا، وسنرجع بإذنه تعالى، سيكون هناك عمل كثير في البلاط وجلي البلاط يعني تكون مصدرا للرزق إن شاء الله لأن كثيرا من البيوت ستحتاج إلى إصلاح". 

ورغم أن المشاركين في العمل كانوا من أصحاب الخبرة في أعمال البناء والبلاط سابقا، فقد حصلوا على دورة تدريبية لاستخدام الأدوات والمعدات إضافة إلى التدريب على إجراءات السلامة وقواعدها في العمل، ويشعر محمد بأهمية هذا التدريب والمعلومات والخبرة التي اكتسبها في عمله ويضيف:

" بهذه الفرصة أخدنا خبرة جديدة في هذا العمل بتعلم مهارات للتعامل مع الحجارة ورصفها أكيد ستكون مفيدة في المستقبل، فالإنسان يبقى طوال عمره يتعلم". 

نجحت مبادرات منظمة بناء في توفير مجموعة من الحاجات والخدمات الأساسية استفاد منها حتى اليوم عشرات الآلاف من سكان مخيمات الشمال السوري، بدءاً من توزيع الخبز ومياه الشرب النظيفة ووقود التدفئة، ووصولا إلى خدمات التنظيف وجمع القمامة، ورصف الطرقات. 

من خلال مشاريع النقد مقابل العمل التي نفذتها منظمة بناء في مخيمات الشمال السوري، تمكنت من توفير مجموعة من فرص العمل للنازحين. وقد غير مشروع رصف المخيمات ملامح الحياة فيها بشكل شعر به الجميع على حد سواء العاملين في المشروع وما تركه من تحسن في ظروفهم المادية، وسكان المخيم والحالة التي أصبحت عليها طرقات المخيمات.

الإبقاء على جذوة الأمل في القلوب هو ما تعمل من أجله منظمة بناء، أمل بأن الشقاء لن يدوم وأن هناك أناسا تبذل جهودا كبيرة لتخفيف الأعباء التي أجبر النازحون على تحملها بسبب ظروف النزوح القاسية، ولكن يبقى الأمل الأكبر والنور في نهاية هذا النفق المظلم هو أن يلتم شملهم بقراهم وبيوتهم بكرامة وعزة.

Skip to main content
x

HOPES FOR BETTER LIFE FUELED BY INITIATIVE AND DEDICATION

workers at the paving project

Armed with determination and high spirit, the roads in the IDP camps are finally paved by their residents 

When speaking about Syrian IDPs, we are faced with endless episodes of suffering and hardship, starting with the horrors of bombing and shelling, to being forced to leave everything behind and escape to another level of misery in the displacement camps. 

Many random camps in northern Syria were hastily established by the IDPs themselves in the hope of securing a roof over their heads, even if this roof was nothing more than a worn-out cloth that does not protect from cold and rain in the winter, nor heat and insects in the summer. The winter is notoriously hard with the flooding and mud accumulation that makes the movement of the residents a very unpleasant undertaking.

These displaced people lost everything: their homes, their jobs, their sources of income, and their livelihood, whether it was an agricultural land or a craft that helps to bring food to the table with some level of dignity. It is true that man shall not live by bread alone, but when it is this hard to secure bread, it becomes more precious than gold.

Understanding these conditions, Binaa for Development launched a series of projects and initiatives in an attempt to improve the living conditions in the IDP camps of northern Syria. Through its cash-for-work initiative, the organization wanted to utilize the human resources in the camps and empower its residents to participate in these projects through a process of learning and development.  

The road paving project is one of the most important cash-for-work projects that were implemented by Binaa in three of these camps. The paving works of Bahorata camp in the Aleppo countryside started in October 2020 and ended in April 2021 with the participation of 18 workers from the camp’s residents. Additionally, the works at Al-Amal and Al-Jaba camps in the Idlib countryside ended in June 2021 with the participation of 107 IDP workers. 

The workers in the paving project were selected from those who had previous experience in similar fields. The candidates go through a training period to learn the basics and get familiar with tools and materials. An area of ​​4100 m² and 4600 m² was paved in Al-Amal camp, while to a total paved area in Al-Jabal camp reached ​​14,000 m².

Ahmed is an IDP from Maar Debsah in Saraqib countryside, and one of the beneficiaries of the paving project in Al-Jabal camp. Before his displacement, Ahmed used to do tiling work and his tools were among the few possessions he dearly kept with him when he left his village, hoping they would help him to make a living at some point. This is why he was happy to hear about the work opportunity in this field and did not hesitate to submit the application, which was approved by the organization. He says:

"Because of the displacement, our conditions have severely deteriorated, and the paving work is close to what I used to do and it’s not too different from laying tiles. The work will give me the additional experience that I need."

 Similarly, Muhammad, from Maarat al-Numan in Idlib governorate, was among the thousands of IDPs who settled in Al-Jabal camp. Mohammad escaped with his family of 12 people when the bombardment intensified on his village, and like many others, he had to leave everything behind to save his family.

Back in his village, Muhammad used to work in stone and block construction and that’s why he was among those selected to work on the paving project when one of his relatives told him about the opening:

I submitted two applications  the first was an application to move to this camp, and the second was to join the paving project. Thankfully, both were approved… I desperately needed this job to secure an income for my large family. Also, this work is close to my previous job, as I was a construction master.”

Like most projects implemented by Binaa, the paving project aims to improve the living conditions and bring more vital services to the camp, in addition to alleviating the suffering that residents used to face each winter. Ahmed said: 

"The paving project will alleviate a lot of suffering. In winter it rains heavily. It rains strangely here in this area... water accumulates on the roads and prevents the children from getting out, and when it floods into the tent, everything in it is ruined."

Certainly the conditions have changed In the camp after this project as Muhammad describes: We could not get out of the tent because of the mud, even the organization that used to bring us water did not accept to come to this camp because of the muddy roads, but now, praise be to God, everything is better and all services are available.” 

عمال الرصف في بناء يرصفون مخيمهم

Hope to return home and that displacement is temporary is what eases some of the burdens that the residents bear. For Ahmed, this means that when he returns to his village he will be able to reap the fruits of the experiences he obtained from training and working in the paving project: “If one day, God willing, we will return to our homes, and we will certainly do someday, there will be a lot of work in the tiling field and this means we will have a source of livelihood because a lot of the houses will need to be repaired.”  

Even though participants had previous experience in construction and tile work, they received a training course on the use of tools and equipment in addition to training on safety and work guidelines. Muhammad adds: 

With this opportunity, we gained new experience in this field and learned new skills on how to deal with stones and how to use them for paving. This will surely be useful in the future, and we should continue to learn throughout their lives.” 

Binaas initiatives have so far succeeded in securing several basic needs and services for tens of thousands of IDPs in the northern Syria camps. Among them were the distribution of bread, clean drinking water, and heating fuel, in addition to providing cleaning services, garbage collection, and paving the roads. 

Keeping the flame of hope in the hearts of those residents is what Binaa hopes to achieve- a hope nourished by the many efforts to alleviate the great suffering they were subjected to, and a bigger hope that they will someday be able to go back to their homes and villages with dignity and pride.