تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
x

مشاريع "بناء".. الفائدة للجميع

عمال في أحد فرق إصلاح الطرق التابعة لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية أثناء قيامهم بإنشاء قناة تصريف مطرية بجوار جسم الطريق. قنوات التصريف تحمي مستخدمي الطريق وتحد من خطر الفيضانات في المخيمات إضافة إلى دورها في حماية الطريق نفسه.

 

على مدار عشر سنوات تستمر الأوضاع الاقتصادية في سورية بالانحدار، البلد الذي لطالما فاض بالخير ولم يعرف أبناؤه الجوع، وتمكنوا على مدار الزمن من تحصيل رزقهم بعرق جبينهم؛ باتوا اليوم في وضع مختلف. وكيل الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة للشؤون الإنسانية قال مؤخراً إن أعداد السوريين الذين يعيشون تحت خط الفقر يزيد عن 90% من عدد سكان البلاد، كما أشار إلى الخيارات الصعبة التي يضطر كثير منهم إلى اتخاذها من أجل تغطية نفقاتهم.

لقد لاحظت منظمة بناء للتنمية الاحتياجات الناجمة عن هذا الواقع الصعب وقررت تخصيص جانب من تدخلاتها بهدف تحسين الأوضاع الاقتصادية للسوريين وخاصة المهجرين منهم. 

محمد إ. هو أحد الشباب المهجرين السوريين الذين استفادوا من مبادرات مؤسسة بناء ذات الصلة، يقول محمد ذو الثلاثة والثلاثين عاماً متحدثاً عن الوضع العام لعائلته: "أنا مسؤول عن أسرتي وأسرة أخوي.. حالياً قاعدين بمخيم الشيخ بحر"، وهو مخيم للمهجرين يقع شمالي مدينة إدلب في سورية. 

جلس الشاب المهجّر من ريف حلب بجوار خندق طويل يمتد بمحاذاة الطريق حيث تجري إحدى ورشات مؤسسة بناء أعمال الصيانة، تحدث إلينا لبضعة دقائق استقطعها من وقت العمل. كانت البدلة التي يلبسها ويداه الخشنتان تعبران عن جهده والتزامه، روى لنا تفاصيل التحاقه بهذا الفريق وشرح أهمية مبادرة النقد مقابل العمل معتبراً أنها "فرصة مهمة"، وأضاف: "سجلت بالمشروع ووافقوا.. إنها فرصة لي ولكثير من شباب المخيم".    

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب.
سوريا، ريف إدلب، 2021. منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب. أعمال التعبيد تمت في إطار مشروع سيستمر لغاية نيسان 2022 ليغطي منطقة معرة مصرين وجبل كللي وكفر جالس وجبل الشيخ بحر وكفر تعنور. 

 

أحوال محمد كانت صعبة للغاية في ظل الأوضاع العامة وتردي الحالة الاقتصادية، ورغم عمله سابقاً في مجال التجارة لكن: "بعد النزوح لم يبق لنا شيء"، يقول بحسرة. 

اليوم بات محمد قادراً على تأمين الدخل لعائلته، وعائلة أخيه المتوفي، لكنه وإضافة إلى ذلك بات شريكاً في تقديم الخدمة للمجتمع من خلال عمله مجال تعبيد وإصلاح الطرق. 

تحت الشمس المشرقة، يتابع أعضاء الفريق أعمال إنشاء قناة مخصصة لتصريف مياه الأمطار من أجل حماية جسم الطريق ومنع تجمع مياه المطر، حيث يندرج هذا المشروع في قائمة مشاريع الإنعاش المبكر وتساهم في حماية المخيمات من الفيضانات وتسهيل حركة الناس والسيارات.

هذه الفوائد يلاحظها الجميع، ويؤكدها محمد:

"المنطقة استفادت من المشروع للغاية.. وساعدها حتى لا تغرق بالفيضانات، لم يكن هناك طريق، أي شيء تحتاجه كنت تضطر للسير مسافة 10 أو 15 كيلومتر للحصول عليه.. الآن وصل الطرق للمخيم، صار عندنا حركة كبيرة.. أي شيء تريده صار متوفر، لدينا الآن صيدليات محلات حدادة.. المشروع أحيا المنطقة فعلاً".

عامل في فريق إصلاح الطرق التابع لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية، يقوم بتحضير الإسمنت أثناء إنشاء قناة تصريف مطرية بجوار جسم الطريق قرب مخيم جبل الشيخ بحر بريف إدلب.
سوريا، ريف إدلب، مخيم الشيخ بحر، 2021. عامل في فريق إصلاح الطرق التابع لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية، يقوم بتحضير الإسمنت أثناء إنشاء قناة تصريف مطرية بجوار جسم الطريق قرب مخيم جبل الشيخ بحر بريف إدلب. 

مبادرات مؤسسة بناء باتت تتضمن الاستجابة الطارئة المتعلقة بإصلاح الطرق الرئيسية المعطلة أو المتضررة بسبب الفيضانات ومياه الأمطار في ريف إدلب. وقد تم البدء بالعمل على المبادرة منذ الصيف الماضي لتحضير المنطقة لفصل الشتاء، وبما يساهم في تعزيز سلامة مستخدمي الطرق وتجنب الحوادث والازدحامات المرورية وانقطاعات الطرق الناجمة عن تجمع الأمطار ومنع تشكل الفيضانات والأوحال.

مشروع صيانة الطرق الذي يعمل فيه محمد، هو حلقة في سلسلة من مشاريع إنشاء وترميم وإعادة تأهيل الطرقات في ريف إدلب، وهو جزء من مشاريع مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بما فيها مشروع ترميم المنازل والبيوت غير المكتملة بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من المشاريع الصحية والإغاثية الأخرى. ومن اللافت أن كل هذه المشاريع ترتبط بشكل أو بآخر بمبادرة النقد مقابل العمل.

مؤسسة بناء للتنمية تعمل على الأرض، وغالبية فرق العمل التابعة لها تتألف من أفراد المجتمع أنفسهم، وهذا يجعلهم أكثر قدرة على معرفة الاحتياجات وإدراك الصعوبات التي يعيشها المهجرون والأهالي على حد سواء.

Skip to main content
x

ROAD PAVING PROJECTS BY “BINAA” … A BENEFIT FOR ALL

Syria, Rural Idlib, Al-Sheikh Bahr Camp, 2021. Workers one of the road repair teams of the Binaa Organization for Development while building a rainwater drainage canal next to the main road. Drainage channels protect road users, reduce the risk of flooding in the camps, and preserve the road itself.

 

Over the past ten years, the economic situation is Syria has been in constant decline. A country that once overflowed with resources and whose people never knew hunger as they managed, overtime, to earn their livelihood through hard work, is in a completely different state today. The United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs recently said that the number of Syrians living below the poverty line has exceeded 90% of the country’s population. He also pointed out that many of them have been obliged to take difficult decisions in order to meet their basic needs. 

Realizing the needs arising from this difficult reality, Binaa for Development took the initiative to improve the living conditions of Syrians, especially the displaced.  

Mohammad A. is one of the displaced Syrian youth who have benefited from such initiatives implemented by BINAA. The thirty-three-year-old man describes his situation as follows: “I provide for both my family and my brother’s family. We are currently residing in the Al-Sheikh Bahr camp”, an IDP camp in the Northern part of Idlib. 

Sitting next to a long trench extending along the road where construction teams from BINAA were conducting maintenance work, the displaced young man from rural Aleppo spoke to us for a few minutes during his break time. Both the suit he was wearing and his calloused hands mirrored his commitment and the effort he puts into his work. He shared with us the story of how he joined the crew and highlighted the significance of cash-for-work programs, describing them as “important opportunities.” He adds: “I applied for the project, and they accepted me. I consider it a great opportunity for myself and other young people in the camp.”

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب.
Syria, Rural Idlib, 2021. An aerial view of one of the new roads built by construction teams from the Binaa Organization for Development near one of the camps for the displaced in rural Idlib. The paving work was carried out within the framework of a project that will run until April 2022 to cover the areas of Ma’aret Misrin, Jabal Kili, Kafr Jales, Al-Sheikh Bahr and Kafr Ta’anour. 

 

Mohammad’s situation was quite challenging in light of the general conditions and the deteriorating economic situation. Despite his previous job in the field of trade, “after displacement, we were left with nothing”, he explains with a sigh. 

Today, Mohammad is able to secure income for both families; but, more importantly he has become a partner in providing services to his community through his work in paving and repairing roads.

Under the scorching sun, members of the team follow up on the construction of a rainwater drainage channel in order to protect the newly-built roads and to prevent water from accumulating in a certain area. This project is included in the list of early recovery projects and contributes to protecting camps from floods and facilitating the movement of people and cars.   

Everyone, including Mohammad, has been noticing these positive changes: “The areas benefited greatly from the project…It also helped us avoid disastrous floods. Previously, there were no roads at all. One had to walk between 10 or 15 km to buy supplies. Now that new roads have been paved, one notices that movement has increased. Anything you want is now available. New blacksmith shops and pharmacies have opened…The project has indeed revived the area.”

 

عامل في فريق إصلاح الطرق التابع لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية، يقوم بتحضير الإسمنت أثناء إنشاء قناة تصريف مطرية بجوار جسم الطريق قرب مخيم جبل الشيخ بحر بريف إدلب.
Syria, Rural Idlib, Al-Sheikh Bahr Camp, 2021. A member of the road repair team from the Binaa Organization for Development prepares cement during the construction of a rain drainage canal next to the main road near Al-Sheikh Bahr camp in rural Idlib.

Binaa’s initiatives now include emergency responses related to repairing main roads that have been affected or damaged due to floods and rain in rural Idlib. Work started last summer to prepare the area for the winter season. It contributes to the enhancement of road safety, decreasing by that accidents, traffic jams, road blocks caused by rain accumulation as well as to the prevention of floods and mud holes. 

The road maintenance project currently underway is a part in a series of projects to construct, restore and rehabilitate roads in rural Idlib. It is implemented by Binaa, which is also working on other initiatives related to restoring unfinished houses, responding to health-related needs and providing other relief services. What is remarkable is the fact that all of these projects are linked, one way or another, to the cash-for-work programme. 

Binaa for Development is a grassroots organisation whose team is mainly composed of members of the local community. This allows them to identify local needs and understand difficulties experienced by both the displaced and the locals.