تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
x

طرقـات تنعش الحـياة في المخيمات

سوريا، ريف إدلب، 2021. ورشة تعبيد وتأهيل الطرق التابعة لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية أثناء قيامها بأعمال التعبيد بريف إدلب، المشروع ساهم في تعبيد 31 كم موزعة على 20 طريق في مناطق معرة مصرين وما حولها.

ترتبط الطرقات بحياة البشر منذ آلاف السنين، وتعود أقدم الطرق المرصوفة بحسب علماء الآثار إلى نحو 4,000 عام، وكما يتأثر كل شيء خلال الحرب، فقد تأثرت الطرق في سورية بما جرى فيها على مدار عشر سنوات. وقد لاحظت منظمة بناء للتنمية الاحتياجات الناجمة عن ذلك وقررت التدخل لإعادة تأهيل الطرق وصيانتها وإنشاء طرق جديدة حيثما دعت الحاجة. 

زكريا البادرلي هو أحد المهندسين المشرفين على عمل فرق الصيانة التابعة لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية، وقد تحدث إلينا حول أهداف المشروع قائلاً: "تكمن الغاية من المشروع في إعادة تأهيل الطرقات في تسهيل حركة الناس من وإلى المخيمات"، وقد قدم لنا معلومات عن نطاق الحملة الجارية حالياً: "الطرق التي تم تعبيدها تقدر بـ 31 كم موزعة على 20 طريق في منطقة معرة مصرين وجبل كلي وكفر جالس وجبل الشيخ بحر وكفر تعنور" وهي مناطق تقع بريف إدلب الشمالي. 

اليوم، تقوم إحدى فرق الصيانة التابعة لمؤسسة بناء بإنشاء قناة مطرية بجانب أحد الطرقات بريف إدلب، يضيف المهندس زكريا: "تعمل فرقنا على إنشاء أقنية مطرية من أجل حماية المخيمات من الفيضانات وحماية جسم الطريق"، موضحاً أن هذه الأعمال تمثل "مشاريع التعافي المبكر"، وأنها تساهم في "إحياء المنطقة من خلال تسهيل حركة الناس والسيارات".

"هذه الأعمال تمثل مشاريع التعافي المبكر، وهي تساهم في إحياء المنطقة من خلال تسهيل حركة الناس والسيارات" - - زكريا البادرلي هو أحد المهندسين المشرفين على عمل فرق الصيانة التابعة لمؤسسة بناء للتنمية،

في المكان ذاته التقينا بـعامل اسمه عبد الله. وقد حدثنا بدوره عن أهمية المشروع بالنسبة للسكان: "المنطقة استفادت من المشروع للغاية.. وساعدها حتى لا تغرق بالفيضاناات"

عبد الله، وهو عضو في فريق الصيانة، كان جالساً على الصخور المكوّمة بجوار الطريق والمعدة للتكسير والاستخدام في عملية إنشاء قناة التصريف، من ورائه كانت أشجار الكينا الكبيرة تلقي ظلها على عدد من أفراد الفريق وهم يكسرون الحجارة ويرصفونها ويثبتون القطع الحجرية بالإسمنت.

يصحح عبد الله وضعية الخوذة الصفراء التي يعتمرها على رأسه وهو يقول: "قبل تعبيد الطريق كان عليك السير حوالي 17 كم لشراء مستلزماتك.. أما الآن فلا تزيد المسافة عن 2 أو 3 كيلومترات". وفي إشارة إلى ما وفره الطريق من فرص أوضح عبد الله "الآن فتحت محلات حدادة وصيدليات.. الطرقات ساهمت في إحياء المنطقة والمخيمات.. المشروع كويس".  

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات الجديدة التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية قرب أحد مخيمات المهجرين بريف إدلب.
سوريا، ريف إدلب، 2021. منظر عام لأحد الطرقات الجديدة التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية قرب أحد مخيمات المهجرين بريف إدلب. أعمال التعبيد تمت في إطار مشروع سيستمر لغاية نيسان 2022 ليغطي منطقة معرة مصرين وجبل كللي وكفر جالس وجبل الشيخ بحر وكفر تعنور.
​​​

بالفعل ساهم المشروع في إحياء المنطقة، هذا ما أكده أيضاً محمد، عامل آخر من فريق الصيانة وإعادة التأهيل، عرفنا محمد بنفسه: "أنا من ريف حلب، عمري 33 سنة، نازح مقيم في بلدة الشيخ بحر".

"بالنسبة لي، المشروع أحيا المنطقة بشكل عام … لم يكن هناك طريق، أي غرض تحتاجه تضطر للسير مسافة 10 أو 15 كيلومتر.. الآن وصلت الطرق للمخيمات، صار في حركة كبيرة.. أي شيء تريده صار متوفر.. المشروع أحيا المنطقة فعلاً".

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب.
سوريا، ريف إدلب، 2021. منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب. 

عبد الله يبلغ من العمر 24 سنة، ورغم أنه ما يزال شاباً إلا أنه يتحمل مسؤوليات كبيرة، "أنا المعيل الوحيد لعائلتي وعائلة أخي الذي استشهد في الحرب".

يحدثنا عبد الله عن وضعه قبل بدء العمل: "الوضع كان صعب جداً، وخاصة مع غلاء الدولار… كنت بلا عمل ولا أستطيع تأمين الخبز.. وأكثر الأمور تتم بالدين". لكن الأوضاع تغيرت بفضل مبادرة النقد مقابل العمل التي تنفذها مؤسسة بناء. يتابع عبد الله: "الآن، تم قبولي في المشروع.. استفدنا كثيراً.. يحصل العامل على يوميته، يؤمن مدخوله ويمكن أن يوفر منه". 

قبولي في المشروع.. استفدنا كثيراً.. يحصل العامل على يوميته، يؤمن مدخوله ويمكن أن يوفر منه - عبد الله، أحد العمال المشاركين في المشروع 

أحوال محمد كانت مشابهة، فهو أيضاً مسؤول عن أسرتين، ورغم عمله سابقاً في مجال التجارة لكن: "بعد النزوح لم يبق لنا شيء"، يقول بحسرة. 

محمد من ريف حلب وهو يبلغ من العمر 33 عاماً، وقد تحدث إلينا لبضعة دقائق استقطعها من وقت العمل. كانت البدلة التي يلبسها ويداه الخشنتان تعبران عن جهده والتزامه بالعمل، روى لنا تفاصيل التحاقه بهذا الفريق وشرح أهمية مبادرة النقد مقابل العمل معتبراً أنها "فرصة مهمة"، وأضاف: "سجلت بالمشروع ووافقوا.. إنها فرصة لي ولكثير من شباب المخيم".

مبادرات مؤسسة بناء باتت تتضمن الاستجابة الطارئة المتعلقة بإصلاح الطرق الرئيسية المعطلة أو المتضررة بسبب الفيضانات ومياه الأمطار في ريف إدلب. أهمية المبادرة تكمن في توقيتها الذي يتزامن مع فصل الشتاء بما يساهم في تعزيز سلامة مستخدمي الطرق وتجنب الحوادث والازدحامات المرورية وانقطاعات الطرق.

مشروع صيانة الطرق الجاري حالياً هو حلقة في سلسلة من مشاريع إنشاء وترميم وإعادة تأهيل الطرقات في ريف إدلب، وهو جزء من مشاريع مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بما فيها مشروع ترميم المنازل والبيوت غير المكتملة بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من المشاريع الصحية والإغاثية الأخرى. ومن اللافت أن كل هذه المشاريع ترتبط بشكل أو بآخر ببرنامج النقد مقابل العمل.

تعمل مؤسسة بناء للتنمية على الأرض، وتتألف غالبية فرق العمل من أفراد المجتمع أنفسهم، وهذا ما يجعلهم قادرين على معرفة الاحتياجات وإدراك الصعوبات التي يعيشها المهجرون والأهالي على حد سواء.

Skip to main content
x

NEW ROADS REVIVE LIFE IN CAMPS

Syria, Rural Idlib, 2021. A construction team for paving and rehabilitation from Binaa for Development carrying out its work in rural Idlib. The project contributed to paving 31 km distributed over 20 roads in and around Ma’aret Misrin.

Roads have been an important staple of human development for thousands of years. According to archeologists, the oldest paved roads date back to about 4000 B.C. Just like everything is affected during the war, roads in Syria have been impacted by the events taking place there for the past 10 years. BINAA for Development intervened with the aim of rehabilitating and maintaining old roads and building new ones where needed.   

Zakaria Al-Baderli, one of the supervising engineers in the BINAA maintenance crew, outlined the project’s objectives as follows: “The main purpose of this project is to rehabilitate roads in order to facilitate the movement of people to and from camps.” He also highlighted the scope of the current campaign by explaining that “[the crew] was able to pave an estimated 31 km distributed over 20 roads in the areas of Ma’aret Misrin, Jabal Kili, Kafr Jales, Al-Sheikh Bahr and Kafr Ta’anour, located in Northern rural Idlib.”   

Today, one of the maintenance teams of BINAA is building a rain canal next to a main road in rural Idlib. In his description of the project, Zakaria adds: “Our teams are currently working on building rain canals in order to prevent flooding inside the camps and to protect the road’s main structure”, explaining that such initiatives are labeled as “early recovery projects”, and that they contribute to “reviving the area by facilitating the movement of people and cars.”

 

"Such initiatives are labeled as early recovery projects. They contribute to reviving the area by facilitating the movement of people and cars,” Zakaria Al-Baderli, one of the supervising engineers in the BINAA maintenance crew

In addition, we were able to meet with one of the construction workers in the area, Abdullah, who also emphasized the importance of this project: “The area benefited greatly from this initiative which prevented the camps from flooding.”

Abdullah, a member of the maintenance crew, was sitting on a pile of rocks that will eventually be cracked and used in the construction of the drainage canal. Behind him were large eucalyptus trees casting their shadows over members of the team as they split stones, paved them, and fixed the blocks with cement.  

While adjusting the protective yellow helmet on his head, Abdullah gives insight on the situation prior to the rehabilitation process: “Before paving the road, one had to walk around 17 km to buy basic supplies. Today, the distance has decreased to no more than 2 or 3 km.” Furthermore, he calls attention to the opportunities that the new road has provided: “New blacksmith shops and pharmacies have opened. The roads contributed to the revival of the area and the camps. The project is a good one.”

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات الجديدة التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية قرب أحد مخيمات المهجرين بريف إدلب.
Syria, Rural Idlib, 2021. An aerial view of one of the new roads built by construction teams from Binaa for Development near one of the IDP camps in rural Idlib. The paving work was carried out within the framework of a project that will run until April 2022 to cover the areas of Ma’aret Misrin, Jabal Kili, Kafr Jales, Al-Sheikh Bahr and Kafr Ta’anour. 

 

Indeed, the project did contribute to the revival of the area. Mohammed, another member of the maintenance and rehabilitation crew also spoke of the positive impact of the project after introducing himself to us: “I am from rural Aleppo. I am 33 years old, displaced, and currently residing in the town of Al-Sheikh Bahr.”

“For me, the project revived the area in general…Previously, there weren’t any roads. One had to walk for at least 10 or 15 km. Now that new roads have been built, the camps have become more alive. Anything you want is now available. The project brought the area to life.”

 

منظر عام لأحد الطرقات أثناء أعمال التعبيد وإعادة التأهيل التي نفذتها ورشات مؤسسة بناء للتنمية بريف إدلب.
Syria, Rural Idlib, 2021. An aerial view of a road during paving and rehabilitation work carried out by the construction teams of the Binaa Organization for Development in rural Idlib.

 

At 24-year old, Abdullah is still young, yet he carries great responsibilities on his shoulders: “I am the only breadwinner in my family and in my brother’s family who died as a martyr in the war.”

He describes his situation before starting work: “It was very difficult, especially with the deterioration of the local currency against the U.S. Dollar. I had no job and could not secure any of the basic necessities, let alone bread. It was almost impossible to do anything without being in debt.” However, his circumstances fortunately changed due to the cash-for-work initiative implemented by Binaa. Abdullah adds: “Now that I have been accepted into the project, I gained a lot. A worker gets paid daily, secures his income, and saves from it.”

Mohammad’s situation was quite similar as he was also responsible for two families. Despite his previous job in the field of trade, “after displacement, we were left with nothing”, he explains with a sigh. 

Originally from rural Aleppo, 33-year-old Mohammad spoke to us for a few minutes during his break. Both the suit he was wearing and his calloused hands mirrored his commitment and the effort he puts into his work. He shared with us the story of how he joined the crew and highlighted the significance of cash-for-work initiatives, while describing them as “important opportunities.” He adds: “I applied for the project, and they accepted me. I consider it a great opportunity for myself and other young people in the camp.”

Binaa’s initiatives now include emergency responses related to repairing main roads that have been affected or damaged due to floods and rain in rural Idlib. The importance of this initiative lies in its timing, which coincides with the winter season, since it contributes to the enhancement of road safety, decreasing by that accidents, traffic jams, and road blocks. 

The road maintenance project currently underway is a part in a series of projects to construct, restore, and rehabilitate roads in rural Idlib. Binaa is also working on other initiatives related to restoring unfinished houses, responding to health-related needs, and providing other relief services. What is remarkable is the fact that all of those projects are linked, one way or another, to the cash-for-work programme. 

Binaa for Development is a grassroots organisation whose team is mainly composed of members of the local community. This allows the organization to identify local needs and understand difficulties experienced by both the displaced and the locals.